At the corner of Loch and Elder Street stands the former residence of Derby’s Wharfinger, or wharf manager, now a small but fascinating museum.
Discover more about Derby’s history, including its role in early aviation and the story of the SS Colac, which was damaged beyond repair after grounding just south of the Derby jetty in 1910. A display of art created at the Bungarun Leprosarium may also be seen.
The Wharfinger’s House was constructed in 1928 on the site of what was the Derby Water Police Station. The building itself is a good example of the North West Regional or tropical style of building in the early twentieth century. The wide verandahs provide shade and ventilation to the three central rooms which now house the museum. The Wharfinger’s House and the Wool Shed are the most visible reminders of the early port activities in Derby.
The Wharfinger's House Museum opens on request, and the key is available from the Derby Visitor Centre.